Scholarships announced for 2019 Science meets Parliament

Science & Technology Australia (STA) has awarded six scholarships ahead of this year’s Science meets Parliament event, adding to the rich diversity of STEM professionals connecting with Parliamentarians in Canberra this November.

The following scholarships have been awarded:

Indigenous STEM Scholarship
  • Professor Chris Matthews, Associate Dean Science Faculty, University of Technology Sydney – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Mathematics Alliance (ATSIMA)
  • Mr Djarra Delaney, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Engagement Coordinator, Bureau of Meteorology – Australian Meteorological & Oceanographic Society (AMOS)
Regional STEM Scholarship
  • Dr Razia Shaik, Research Officer, Charles Sturt University – Women in STEMM Australia
  • Dr Andrew Harford, Senior Research Scientist, Department of the Environment and Energy – Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry Australasian Chapter
STEM Pride Scholarship
  • Dr Sarah Stephenson, Senior Research Officer, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute – Australasian Neuroscience Society
  • Dr Daniel Heath, Senior Lecturer of Biomedical Engineering at University of Melbourne – Australasian Society for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering

CEO of STA, Kylie Walker, said STA was proud to be celebrating 20 years of Science meets Parliament, supporting scientists and technologists with skills and opportunities to connect with parliamentarians and the political process.

“STA is pleased to be able to host hundreds of scientists and technologists in Canberra this November, and I’m proud that these include recipients of regional, indigenous and STEM pride scholarships,“ Ms Walker said.

“Each delegate will meet with a Member of Parliament or a Senator to discuss issues of common interest and the role of science and technology in Australia’s prosperity and wellbeing.”

Ms Walker said STA was keen that delegates at Science meets Parliament should reflect the full range of people working in the STEM sector.

“Bringing a diversity of delegates from across the STEM sector to Canberra, with a range of experiences, perspectives and attributes, enhances opportunities for connection with parliamentarians and the parliamentary process,” Ms Walker said.

“This can only benefit our work to elevate the role of evidence in policy- and decision-making.”

The Indigenous STEM Scholarships are proudly supported by the Australian Academy of Science (AAS) and the ARC Centre of Excellence for Engineered Quantum Systems (EQUS).

The Regional STEM Scholarships are proudly supported by Croplife Australia and the ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science.

Science meets Parliament runs 26-27 November this year in Canberra.

Major funding support

Australian Research Council

The Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Engineered Quantum Systems (EQUS) acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and their continuing connection to lands, waters and communities. We pay our respects to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and to Elders past and present.