Island Physics 2018

The third in the triennial Island Physics series, this workshop will bring together participants from academia and industry to advance quantum technologies in Australia. 

The format will be a mixture of invited and contributed talks together with plenty of discussion. Select contributed posters will have the opportunity to present a "lightning talk" to give a brief 5 min, single slide, presentation highlighting your work

Day two of the workshop will be devoted to the Future Quantum Workshop with invited participants from government and commercial sectors (finance, defence, telecommunications, startups, and other relevant industries). 

For more information, email


You are invited to submit an abstract for a contributed talk or poster. To submit an abstract, please follow this link. The deadline for abstract submission is April 27. 


Earlybird registration (ends May 4)

  • Student - $200
  • Full - $400

Normal registration (ends June 22)

  • Student - $250
  • Full - $450

Important dates

  • Closing date for contributed papers and posters - April 27, 2018
  • Closing date for earlybird registration - May 4, 2018
  • Closing date for registration - June 22, 2018

Confirmed Speakers

  • John Weston (Chief Engineering Officer) of Senetas Corporation Limited
  • Julian Fay (Chief Technical Officer) of Senetas Corporation Limited
  • Dr Maja Cassidy (Senior researcher at Microsoft’s Station Q Sydney) based at the University of Sydney Nanoscience Hub.
  • Dr Ben Sparkes (ARC DECRA Fellow) in the Precision Measurement Group in the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (School of Physics Sciences) at the University of Adelaide

Organising committee

  • Professor Tom Stace, UQ and EQUS
  • Professor Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop, UQ and EQUS
  • Professor Andre Luiten, UoA
  • Professor Matthew Davis, UQ, EQUS, and FLEET
  • Professor Jared Cole, RMIT
Frequently asked questions: 

How do I get to Magnetic Island?

First, find the city of Townsville, in North Queensland. Qantas, Virgin Australia and Jetstar airlines fly to Townsville from major cities daily. From there it's a short ferry ride to the island.

Magnetic is a rocky island, 8km offshore. You can get here via a 20 minute passenger ferry ride or bring your own car; it is approximately 40 minutes crossing  on the vehicle ferry

The conference venue - Peppers Blue on Blue Resort - is a three minute walk (250m) from the ferry terminal

Where should I stay?

Delegates can book accommodation at the conference venue - Peppers Blue on Blue Resort. You will need to call to book as rooms are being held for the conference. Mention Island Physics to receive a discount on the room rate Click here for accommodation rates. Places are limited! 

Phone number:  

  • +61 7 4758 2415 (AU)
  • +61 7 4758 2400 (AU)

What does my registration fee cover?

Registration includes morning tea, lunch, and afternoon tea for the entire conference as well as a networking dinner. 

Want to find out more about the weird world of quantum physics? Sign up for our newsletter or follow us on social media. 

Get regular updates on quantum physics and the people behind the research


Major funding support

Australian Research Council Logo